Skip to content

holiday snaps (2): circles

20 Sep 2008

More-or-less circles at any rate – from the vineyards, from the city and from the Sierra Nevada:

Second right at the bottom is a picture of the largest doughnut I have ever seen. It was in fact a sort of cross between a doughnut and an apple fritter and measured 6″ in diameter. We were challenged, but between us we managed it. If you want to try one (and it was very tasty) then take everyone you know to Los Banos Donuts and chip in to the total of $1.25 or thereabouts.

In the bottom right corner is a wagon wheel, a sort of bonus feature of a truly fabulous early American quilt exhibition which has just opened at the Lesher Center for the Arts in Walnut Creek, CA.  It was there to complement such beauties as this wagon wheel quilt:

For many reasons I find I can’t be whole-heartedly enthusiastic about the Oregon trail and the settlement of the west, but I do admire a woman who can sew curves while travelling such a rough road.  This was such a special exhibition that I shall have to give it, and my photos of it (they were very nice about photographs for non-commercial purposes), a separate post in due course.  And if you are in the area you have until 23rd November to go and see it for real.

Posted by Cally on 20 Sept 2008 at http://callybooker.wordpress.com Creative Commons License

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 22 Sep 2008 12:58 pm

    I love the way you’re presenting your holiday photos. And I really admire that quilt.

  2. 23 Sep 2008 7:19 am

    Cute, cute, cute quilt. I love the irregularity of the choice of fabric. Soooo cozy…

  3. 23 Sep 2008 7:42 pm

    I like your pictures and wonder what ideas are brewing! I live at terminus of the Oregon trail, so I was exposed to a lot of museums and things about the settlement of the West, growing up. I’d have been one one of the ones that stayed behind and done without the land. Not a lick of pioneer spirit. (Pioneer blind optimism? Pioneer greed? Pioneer desperation?) One poor woman traveled the entire trail in a wooden crate, getting out only at night so the other members of the wagon train wouldn’t know she was there; she was black. There’s a replica of the crate at the End of the Trail Museum.

  4. 14 Jun 2011 11:55 pm

    Commenting on your very old post here, I’m searching for a quilt with some stylistic bicycle type wheels, and this is one that I have been thinking of making, albeit, NOT in a wagon.

    A long time ago my Dad gave me a book of letters written by women traveling the Oregon Trail…very interesting reading.

    Thanks for the photo!

    Ahhh I am so torn between designs.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

