Skip to content

reds

16 Dec 2008

I moved my loom the other day in order to give myself more space at the warping board.  A consequence of this, however, is that I have less room to step back and take photos of the weaving-in-progress.  Here is the best I can do of the first few inches on the berry-coloured warp.  There’s a lot more of it than this (exactly 25″ wide in the reed), but it won’t fit…

berry-red-with-test-weft

This is not the ‘proper’ weft colour, but a lighter shade chosen in order to check my threading and tie-up.  It needed checking since I had to re-tie all 14 treadles from summer and winter back to twill.  I’m now well into weaving the wrap, but haven’t managed to get a photo that works.

Instead, here’s (almost) what I saw through the window at 8.15 this morning:

sunrise

Almost, because it was a whole lot redder than that.

reds” was posted by Cally on 16 Dec 2008 at http://callybooker.wordpress.com

Creative Commons License

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 17 Dec 2008 1:06 am

    Sailors take warning?

    Pretty checks!

  2. 17 Dec 2008 10:17 am

    I know what the bottom photo means – the shepherd’s house is on fire.

    I have not a clue how you do the patterns (don’t tell me, my brain will explode), I understand pick up patterns on a rigid heddle loom but that’s as far as it goes. I liked the colours of warp on its own and I can’t wait to see the finished piece.

  3. 17 Dec 2008 12:10 pm

    Oh dear, checks? It isn’t supposed to look checky… Although I think it probably does in such light colours, also it is rather foreshortened by my photographic “technique”.

    Caroline, you do make me laugh! I reckon the shepherd has gone on his winter holiday to Tenerife and that is the last blaze of the sheep all-night party.

  4. Heather permalink
    18 Dec 2008 9:33 pm

    Now that is pretty. I love the berry-coloured warp and the weaving thereon.

  5. 19 Dec 2008 3:56 pm

    Lovely to see what’s on your loom, this has me itching to get mine warped up. I agree you do seem to have checks from this angle. Did you intend the blocks to look less square?

  6. 19 Dec 2008 11:11 pm

    Oh Cally, I love what you’re weaving! And I don’t think it looks “checky.” My eye is too busy being fascinated by the diagonals and the color to see checks.

  7. trapunto permalink
    22 Dec 2008 5:51 pm

    I’m sorry my thoughtless burble caused anxiety! The word “check” does tend to bring words like “gingham” and “curtains” and “apron” to mind, which isn’t anything like your piece.

    Anyway it finished and photographed beautifully!

  8. 22 Dec 2008 7:07 pm

    Not at all – checks can be great! It is just that in this case the client specifically didn’t want checks and it would be typical me to go and make them accidentally. She seems very happy though, so it must be OK. Shame that means I don’t keep the wrap, however.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

