Skip to content

wet cloth, colour and form

21 Sep 2010

I have been trying and failing to get a picture that would show you the rust weft pattern on the loom. Here is the best I could muster:

Perhaps you can see the outline of interlocking rectangles, or perhaps not. Anyway, I cut off both scarves and washed them yesterday and *bing!* the pattern sprang to life. Here is the same cloth, lifted dripping from the sink for a photo:

But why, you may be wondering, have I suddenly gone for rectangles when a minute ago I was making curves?  Well, there’s a bit of theory here, but don’t worry – I just want to put the cloth in context.

My other reading from the library is Elements of Colour by Johannes Itten. I was intrigued to come across the chapter on “Form and Colour” which matches certain attributes of the primary colours to three basic shapes: the circle, the square and the triangle. In Itten’s scheme, the square is red (for “matter”), the triangle yellow (for “thought”) and the circle blue (for “spirit in eternal motion”). Blending the shapes as well as the colours in the colour wheel gives something a bit like this:

I have some problems with this arrangement as the symbolism is at odds with some of my own responses to colour and shape: personally, I think I would have a blue square, a red triangle and a yellow circle, although I’m not absolutely wedded to the scheme. But that is all the more reason to explore Itten’s theory, which is why I decided to change the treadling for my second scarf.

For the first scarf I used a blue weft and a wavy draft. In this scheme, by the way,

The circle comprehends all shapes of flexuous, cyclic character, as the ellipse, oval, wave, parabola, and their derivatives.

So the treadling turns out to have been an appropriate choice. Since I wanted to weave the second scarf with a rust weft I thought I would try something more angular and hence came up with what S calls the “parquet floor” design. Now that I am about to wind a more red-green warp, I am playing with that rounded triangle figure. I find it rather a pleasing shape, and when you fit them together the negative space is interesting too.

wet cloth, colour and form” was posted by Cally on 21 Sept 2010 at http://callybooker.wordpress.com

Creative Commons License

One Comment leave one →
  1. 22 Sep 2010 9:07 am

    lovely huck lace and interesting how the cloth became bluer .

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

