Skip to content

liftplan trauma

28 Sep 2010

I have to remind myself that I am still relatively new to the dobby loom and designing liftplans. I have to remind myself of this to prevent outbreaks of frustrated screaming, but I don’t always do it in time…

Yesterday I had a day off work and I thought I would spend it weaving up the first scarf on the new warp. Have I shown you the new warp by the way? It looks like this:

Anyway, as I mentioned earlier, I want to use Itten’s rounded triangle shape with a green weft and I set up a draft that would do this. Only when I wove it, I didn’t like it. So I set about “quickly” changing it and four hours later… Well, it is probably sufficient to say that by the time I had a liftplan I was happy to try, I no longer had any enthusiasm for trying it. While on the one hand I am grateful that I have weaving software to alleviate some of the pain of this process, on the other hand it was my day off and I spent most of it at the computer.

Fortunately, I had taken some sausages out of the freezer, so the day wasn’t completely ruined.

liftplan trauma” was posted by Cally on 28 Sept 2010 at http://callybooker.wordpress.com

Creative Commons License

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Pat Foster permalink
    28 Sep 2010 1:37 pm

    Like the warp colours. Picture of the rejected draft?

  2. 29 Sep 2010 10:01 am

    well, just imagine yourself under the loom re tyeing the tie up three or four times.
    those green threads make that warp sing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

