Skip to content

does anyone know…

29 Sep 2010

…how to get a WordPress-acceptable file out of Fiberworks?

After my last post Pat asked whether I could share a picture of the rejected draft. When I started using Fiberworks I had thought I would be able to share images of my drafts fairly easily (as I had done with Excel), but alas I came unstuck early on. I edit my draft in a Fiberworks file and I have the option to export it to a wif file, but WordPress wants a jpeg, png or gif. The only way I have been able to produce them is to take a screenshot and paste it into Photoshop for editing, but it means I am very limited with regard to resolution — Ican either produce a distance-view with the detail virtually invisible or a close-up of a small fragment. I am sure I am missing a trick somewhere, so do let me know if you have the secret!

does anyone know…” was posted by Cally on 29 Sept 2010 at http://callybooker.wordpress.com

Creative Commons License

3 Comments leave one →
  1. amy permalink
    29 Sep 2010 7:55 pm

    Yes.

    Copy Image is the command you are looking for. I think it’s CTRL+M, or under the Edit menu. That puts the image of the drawdown on your clipboard. I then open Paint, which is a basic graphics program that comes standard on most Windows computers, and paste the image in there. Paint allows me to save it as a jpg or tif or bmp or gif.

    Holler if you get stuck. I’m doing this from memory, so I could be a little off. But it’s definitely do-able. It’s how I make handouts for Guild presentations, etc.

  2. 29 Sep 2010 8:37 pm

    What Amy said. Or, PrtScn and paste on to a file inside a program that can produce a JPB or PNG or similar?

  3. 30 Sep 2010 9:47 am

    Thanks, Amy! Ctrl+M is exactly the thing I was looking for and failed to find… I have been doing the print screen option but as my laptop screen is teeny-tiny it wasn’t very successful.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

